Real graffiti on my elementary school that I found on a run last year while in my hometown. Real sorry about that acquisition, whomever this Dustin fella is.

A creative approach

Whitney Scott
Thrive Global

--

I don’t know if it’s the impending winter shit show that’s about to decend upon us with no mercy, the Main Event WWE-esque shit show aka the Election and it’s outcome that has us living in a waking nightmare, or what…

But I’ve been struggling. Struggling with like, everything. Uninspired, bored, furious. You know, all those really attractive qualities that draw awesome people towards one another?

One thing, among many other things I’ve been doing to try to help is read. A book. A physical book, recommended by a real person I know in real life. It’s called Creativity by Osho. Osho was this kind of rebellious, Indian, spiritual teacher in the 1970’s who had a lot of really great suggestions on how to be happy. Like most influential people, he is most celebrated posthumously. Look him up. He’s got other books that I’ve read, and more I haven’t but plan on reading.

He has a chapter in Creativity explaining left and right side brain function. Left being mechanical, right being creative. There are 4 keys to this, according to this dude Osho. I’m going to tell you about the one I love the most, because it’s something I already tell myself: Approach things as a child would. Meaning that if you approach your life like you don’t already know how to do things, you will inevitably be forced to take some liberties with your tasks, and end up creating something new…

--

--

Whitney Scott
Thrive Global

Holistic health coach,personal chef, advocate for the underdog, professional fun-haver