I Was a Task Management App Addict

4 Truths That Helped Me Break Free

Ellane W
Live Your Life On Purpose

--

Rustic scene with two rakes leaning against a rustic shed, glowing with golden sunshine.
Photo by Ronaldo de Oliveira on Unsplash

Meet Sue. She’s sitting at her computer, eyes bright as she feverishly enters all her projects and tasks into another Brand New Task Management System. She’s more excited and motivated than she has been for months!

There’s an air of optimism about her, a surprising contrast to her usual half-hearted attempts at being productive.

Confession: Sue is me.

Was me.

She’s a persona I’m finally free of because I’ve learned to internalize four simple truths. If you can relate to Sue and you’re ready to change, these truths can help you, too.

1. ​Just because a system has great reviews doesn’t mean it’s right for you.

I learned about Omnifocus from the Asian Efficiency blog, but it wasn’t until I learned that David Sparks was also an Omnifocus man that I set off to download the trial.

At first it was exciting; like joining an exclusive club where the real productivity geeks hung out. That feeling didn’t last. As much as I wanted to join David and Thanh in regimented productivity bliss, Omnifocus and I never seemed to get along.

--

--

Ellane W
Live Your Life On Purpose

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans