The Science of Motivation: Use this to change your Life

Aaron Lee
5 min readMar 30, 2016

--

Imagine this year; you’ll accomplish every single thing in your New Year’s Resolution.

You’ll follow through every single goal you written down. What would happen when you do follow through?

  • You’ll lose 20lbs
  • You’ll finish a marathon
  • You want to spend less and save more money
  • You’ll finally start the business you wanted
  • You’ll read 30 books

Wait! Didn’t you set the same goals lastyear?

According to a survey only 8% will achieve their New Year’s Resolution.

It’s nearly April. Do you still remember what’s in your New Year’s resolution?

You’re not alone. I forgot about mine. It looks like the odds are stacked against me (and you). I set 50 things I want to succeed this year. It looks like I need to push harder to achieve my goals.

For us to succeed. We need to be motivated on a daily basis.

This is why I dove into the science of motivation. I want to achieve my New Year’s Resolution this year, despite the fact that only 8% of people reach their goals.

I want to be that 8%.

I want to help you too. I’ve gone ahead and searched of the science of motivation that we can use to give us the extra edge this year.

You see, we’re all the same. We’re not constantly in the ZONE.

I have days where I don’t feel like working out or feel like writing a blog post. Even on some days where I don’t feel like working out, somehow I still manage to dive deep inside me to get my butt of the comfortable soft couch and get to work.

Where did this motivation appear? I needed to understand it. I want to why some people are naturally enthusiastic and unstoppable.

What makes one go to the gym every day without fail and another stop after a month. I’m sure there’s a science to it.

With the science of motivation on our side, I think you and I will have a higher chance of beating the odds and achieve our New Year’s Resolution this year.

The Science of Motivation

  1. Measure Small Progress

When we focus on development or small wins, it’s easier for our brain can see a much clearer path to achieving the goal. Measuring little progress is different compared to just tracking whether you’ve achieved your goals.

According to Harvard’s Teresa Ambile’s Research, they have found that there’s nothing more motivating than progress in meaningful work. Even though progress happens in small steps, a person’s sense of steady movement toward an important goal that they set can have a difference.

For example, if you want to read 50 books a year. Instead of only tracking them at the end of the year, monitor it on a weekly basis.

Imagine hitting the 50% mark. Will this trigger the fire in you? Progress is a powerful motivator.

2. Understand motivational wave

According to Fogg, a motivation wave is a timeframe of which we’re feel empowered inspired to reach our goal.

Credit: rioleo

What this means is, there are certain time of a day where you’ll be highly motivated and the opposite. Fogg argues that when we’re at these high motivation points, we have a take advantage of this higher motivation to build habits

Remember, when you’re at the peak, it’s recommended to do things that are the hardest.

3. The Power of Reward

REWARDS work! Just like rewarding your dog when he does a trick.

Well, that may not be the best example, but I’m sure you understand where I’m going with this.

Rewards can have a positive impact.

Imagine getting that slice of chocolate cake when you workout five times a week. Or maybe a movie every time you FINISH reading a book or write a blog post.

According to Charles Duhigg author of The Power of Habit. Charles advises on making the benefits of working out more tangible, such as by treating yourself to a smoothie.

I noticed this was something people in the fitness industry do A LOT. If you think it’s cheat meals, you’re WRONG. They get new shoes very often. Maybe there’s something to it after all. I realized most people in the fitness industry has over 20 pairs of shoes.

4. Power pose

Your pose shapes who you are. Hunching is a clear sign of someone who’s not motivated.

We all know that our mind shapes who we are. What we don’t know is, our body is linked to our psychological processes such as motivation, emotion and cognitive activity.

Anthony Robbins shares this quite often. He’s right. Based on a Harvard research conduction by Amy Cuddy, Dana R. Carney and Andy J. Yap of Columbia University of 42 male and female participants. The participants were randomly assigned to a high- or low-power pose group.

credit: James Clear

In their experiment, Cuddy and her coauthors found that high-power poses decreased cortisol (stress hormones) by about 25% and increased testosterone by 19% for both male and female participants.

In their separate experiment, the low-power poses increased cortisol about 17% and decreased testosterone about 10%.

Need motivation? Stand up, stand jumping around and do the power pose. That will warm you up a little.

5. Choose your friends wisely

Do you know? Your friends have a direct influence on you. I believe this is real. Back in the days before social media has opened my network, I used to think many things weren’t achievable until I met so many people on social media who have done it. That changed my mentality on the impossible.

According to Friendfluence, research shows over time, your habits and even career are aspirations of those around you. This is important. If you’re around individuals who are set high goals for themselves, you’re likely to pick up the same.

YES! The same applies for the opposite. So pick your friends wisely.

What can you do to motivate yourself?

  • Measure small progress.
  • Understand what motivates you
  • Reward yourself
  • Practice your power pose often
  • Choose your friends wisely

Over to you now!

What do you think? Is there a science to motivation? Can motivation be hacked? I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic.

If you enjoyed reading this article, please take the time to recommend it to your friends and click on the love icon

P.S. Thank you so much for reading this far! If you found value in this post, I’d really appreciate it if you recommend this post by clicking that lovely❤ button. That way, other people can see it.

--

--