Contrarian Life Advice From a Former Educator Who Didn’t Really Like School

Lean into what you were bullied for

Yiling Ong
Publishous

--

Photo by Lexica AI

I recall the day my subconscious self linked schools to prisons.

I was the client in a career construction interview and narrated my favorite story, which was set in Auschwitz.

This spurred my colleague to get me thinking of possible prisons in my life.

I instantly thought of the schools I’ve been in, as a student and educator.

I thought too of how I was imprisoning myself mentally, persevering in an environment that was draining my soul.

I took so long to write this article because I’ve benefited from schools. I’ve met genuinely good souls there and grown profoundly.

Yet when it comes to institutions and schooling, I suspect some of us are scarred — and remain unconsciously so.

Here’s some contrarian advice that can help us examine and transcend the tough bits for personal growth.

1. Lean into what you were bullied for

I feel sad when I see people being traumatized by what they were bullied for in school.

--

--

Yiling Ong
Publishous

I help thoughtful souls honor their center and act from their grounded place. Start here 👇 centeredchoices.ck.page/the3cs