Why do I want to help 10 000 refugees get jobs?

Fabian Lurz
2 min readJan 21, 2016

--

This post is part 4/5 of a series from the founders of Migrant Hire, where each of us explain why we personally want to help 10 000 refugees get jobs.

Part 1:

https://medium.com/@remimek/why-i-want-to-help-10-000-refugees-get-jobs-ca48b961cab4#.5r0zf5io5

Part 2:

https://medium.com/@mozamel/why-i-want-to-help-10-000-refugees-get-jobs-29f629bea070#.ccmnomtju

Part 3:

https://medium.com/@zenrene/why-i-want-to-help-10-000-refugees-get-jobs-d55f90009134#.2bgow6vq6

My parents live in Hassfurt, a small town in Bavaria. Last year, a lot of refugees arrived in Hassfurt, and since it’s hard for them to get a job they mostly hang around and drink alcohol. My parents are worried about how the situation will turn out, and frankly, I understand their concerns.

My parents are not really against refugees, they are just worried about the situation. What it is exactly that they are worried about is hard to describe, but I would guess that they are worried that there will be more refugees coming than Germany can handle.

I’m really worried that far right parties gain traction because many people share my parents’ fears. Some Germans are even very aggressive against refugees, they think that refugees are just using our system to get money and that they don’t want to work.

I think helping refugees getting jobs will stop farright parties like AFD and showing them that refugees want to work and contribute to society just like every other German. .

I want to help 10 000 refugees get jobs because I think work is the best way of integrating into the German society, and also to take advantage of all the talent that these people bring with them. . And hopefully, my parents won’t have to worry anymore, and will see that refugees are indeed not dangerous, but instead will benefitGermany.

--

--