11 Useful macOS Terminal Commands As Standalone Apps

They’re so amazing, you can’t live without once you try

Nikhil Vemu
Mac O’Clock
Published in
9 min readMar 29, 2023

--

MacBook on a sofa
Photo by Oliur on Unsplash

It’s when I discovered some nifty Mac Terminal hacks, some apps got no-longer-useful and I ditched them (even paid ones like HiddenMe).

I hoarded all useful commands in Notes, but soon started hating it as carefully copying them to execute on Terminal was tedious.

I needed them as standalone apps — apps that (ask for input &) directly execute the command when triggered.

(Imagine if an app executes defaults write com.apple.finder CreateDesktop false when you trigger it i.e., hides all desktop icons. How amazing’d it be!)

Here are 11 such Automator apps I created for myself that are making my life easier.

• Miscellaneous

#1. Show/Hide Desktop Icons

(Click the name to download)

Note: I created all these apps by myself, and I assure you of your safety and security. If your Mac doesn't let you open them claiming they might be malicious, ⌃ + click and open them the first time you use.

--

--