What Buffy the Vampire Slayer Taught Me About Hardships

Maggie Kelly
3 min readJan 11, 2022
Buffy with her sister, Dawn

“The hardest thing in this world is to live in it.” — Buffy Summers

Sometimes you hear a quote and something about it resonates with you to the core. Maybe it doesn’t always happen the first time around.

You may hear the same quote for years, then one day you happen to be in the right space and it just hits you.

This quote from Buffy the Vampire Slayer is one of them for me.

I’ve been struggling with depression since I was 13. Most of my days were spent curled up in a ball, crying myself to sleep.

Yet, I stuck through with it. One of my most pervasive beliefs is that things will always get better. Even in times of most despair, I tried to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Most days, I could never see the light, but I knew it was there.

There’s no getting around the fact that life is hard.

Life isn’t for the faint of heart. It’s tough. It’s going to throw you challenges and put you through hell. That’s just the nature of life. But good things come out of that.

Out of challenges, we grow resiliency. Out of the hell, we find nirvana. It’s all part of the balance of life. Nothing is ever going to be all bad the same way it’s not going to be all

--

--

Maggie Kelly

Maggie Kelly is a ghostwriter who writes about mental health and personal development. https://mindfulmillennialbusinesswomen.com/