3 Unfair Advantages That Made Me $10K in 6 Months as a New Freelancer

You don’t have to “start small” if you follow these steps.

Anangsha Alammyan
Freelancer’s Hub
Published in
6 min readJun 29, 2021

--

Image created by the author.

When I started my freelancing journey in January 2021, I didn’t list myself on Upwork and take the route most new freelancers do.

I started working with a premium client right in my first month. And this happened because I had three unfair advantages that I’m going to discuss in this post. You can steal them from me and make them your own.

Before we get started, here’s how I define premium gigs:

  • Your client expects solutions to challenging problems and urges you to think out of the box.
  • You have a more “complex” role that doesn’t involve simply writing. Often, your decisions can change the direction of the company.
  • They are long-term contracts with incremental “salaries.”

If you’re a new freelancer tired of selling your soul for a few dollars, this article is just for you. Here’s how I landed a premium client for my very first gig that paid me more than $10,000 USD in 6 months.

1. I wrote for free for 6 months

Technically, I didn’t write for free. I wrote on Medium. The partner program paid me decent amounts…

--

--