Carlotta Tatti
2 min readJul 25, 2014

I am 20 years app developer. I started creating apps 2 and half years ago. I always liked programming and when I discovered Objective-C I simply “falled in love with it”.

Every time I create a new app I try to outmatch the results of the previous ones.

One of my passions is traveling, discovering new countries and cultures, foods and cuisines. For many months I reflected about creating an app which could provide a “universal travel guide”. So I started creating Veu. It’s my most complex app at the moment, which comprises also a backend written in nodejs that serves the data.

Initially Veu was launched as a paid app. First error. At least in my case this metodology didn’t work.

At this point, I made some changes on Veu. I added an ad banner, made a better icon and sent the update to Apple for review. I revised the app description with a more “selling” one.

Screens from Veu.

This time things were going better, hundreds of downloads every day. So I took the opportunity to write to press. iMore, TUAW and AppAdvice talked about Veu in different days, with a peak of 30.000 downloads in a day.

Capacity planning for Veu. Batch request and caching with Redis are implemented.

Now to the downsides. The server had a downtime of 3 hours, due to quota exhaustion in one of API I was using. I lost many users and received many bad reviews. My fault because I didn’t implement cache. So check that! ;-)

At the moment I am working to add the OpenStreetMap places to the database. Here is a work in progress.

Unlisted
Carlotta Tatti

22 years-old iOS Developer. Developer of @SnapaliciousApp and @VeuApp