I Fell Out of Love With My Job

Quitting doesn’t mean failure; it's just a redirection.

Anangsha Alammyan
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Blogs
6 min readSep 11, 2024

--

Image from the author’s Instagram

It was the middle of September 2019. Yes, those pre-pandemic days.

I’d just wrapped up my work and was preparing to leave for the day. The person who serves tea walked into my office and said the Head of Department (HOD) wanted to see me.

Thinking it was a regular meeting, I walked into the HOD’s room, and was surprised to see the entire civil department sitting in the room. I looked around and took a seat towards the back.

I was the youngest professor at NIT Silchar, and none of my colleagues really talked to me beyond the mandatory “Hi, how are you, how was your day?”s. Still, I whispered to the professor of geotechnology sitting next to me and asked, “What’s this meeting about?”

“We’re evaluating the scores of a test conducted today,” he replied. “HOD sir asked all of us for help.”

Fair enough. I could evaluate a few test papers.

What followed were three hours of clerical work that I could have easily done in 20 minutes had it been left to me. But following the HOD’s instruction and everyone else’s friendly banter, the process took way longer than it should have. It ate up my time for a workout, and left me too tired to write.

--

--