One Precious Second

Opened my eyes, my heart, my world

Colleen Millsteed
Lifeline
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2023

--

An ornate key and partnered lock.
Image courtesy of Pixabay

This poem has been written as part of Sahil Patel’s Lifeline’s poetry prompts. Thank you, Sahil for the invite.

Today’s prompt is: Write a poem about a fleeting moment that left an indelible mark on your soul. It could be a chance encounter, a brief connection, or a fleeting glimpse of beauty. Describe the emotions, sensations, and thoughts that flooded your being during that ephemeral experience. Explore how this fleeting moment has shaped your perspective or left a lasting impression on your life. Let the words flow as you paint a vivid and evocative picture of this fleeting moment, capturing its essence and making it timeless through your writing.

One Precious Second

Opened my eyes, my heart, my world

A connection to my soul with just one glance into your eyes
As I walked past you in the grocery isle,
A heartbeat in time, a fleeting moment,
One that opened up my world in a short period of time.

The connection was strong,
Just a minute in amongst my lifetime of hours,
But it opened my heart, changed my day,
Left an indelible memory for years to come.

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
Lifeline

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.