Success Is Sweet When They Don’t Expect You to Achieve It This Soon

Money stops nonsense.

David O.
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readFeb 17, 2020

--

Photo by Shamim Nakhaei on Unsplash

Show up rich. The game ends when you show up rich. They will forgive you when you show up rich. The best revenge is still massive success.

I could still picture the surprise on his face when I was chauffeur-driven into his compound. He thought I would be walking. Of course, he knows I can afford it, he was just surprised it would be my choice.

It costs more than 7 times the usual fare. An average person would have wanted to save some money. But not me. My mind was already fixed on having the best convenience money can get.

I wasn’t trying to impress him. And he saw through it. In fact, that was the more reason he was surprised. If I wanted to surprise him, I would have arrived in a super expensive luxury car.

I grew up in a small town. He was a relative living in the big city. We had the perception that he was wealthy. And he was to some extent.

He was the most influential relative. You know that kind of relative everybody tries to please. Yes, there are a few who can fight him but he often has his way. I’m not sure whether he is the one with the most money but he sure does act like it.

--

--

David O.
Ascent Publication

Mostly sharing my learnings around money, marketing, and business success. Not financial advice. Think for yourself