Worry Can Choke Your Creativity

Worry is merely “being creative” in the wrong way

Christina M. Ward
Literally Literary
Published in
4 min readJun 9, 2019

--

Image by J.S. Klingemann from Pixabay

Worrisome thoughts have me tumbling like a second-used dryer sheet, used up and limp and tangled in the damp. I couldn’t get a firm and fragrant thought to form if I tried.

I am the first to counsel the proverbial worry-wart. My response is always the same: I Listen. Empathize. Remind. I remind them to just hold on and that there are people who truly care, or that they have been through worse than this, or of the lessons that these things can teach us.

A silver lining can always be found.

I often have two very firm pieces of advice:

  • You may not be able to change your situation, but you can change how you respond to it.
  • Worry is nothing more than mental boredom when the mind needs to be creative. Do something creative — it redirects the mind to use that creativity for something positive.

So why can’t I take my own advice right now?

There are articles that need to be written, but they elude me. Poems tumble quietly in the folds of my mind but I can’t grasp them. Blog posts are trapped in the lint trap, unused, a dusty mound of thoughts undeveloped.

--

--

Christina M. Ward
Literally Literary

✨WEBSITE: https://fiddleheadsnfloss.com/ ➡️ Bylines: LA Weekly | OK! Mag | Village Voice | Men's Journal | Vegamour | THS 📖Books available on Amazon