Signs You’re Obsessed With Writing, And How To Overcome It

Avoid associating writing with exhaustion.

Nikhil Vemu
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMar 4, 2021

--

Photo of Man Leaning on Wooden Table
Photo by Andrew Neel from Pexels

A few days ago, I realised I was obsessed with writing.

When our ANO (Associate NCC Officer) summoned us for the last Army training camp at the end of this month, my friends were overjoyed with the news that we’re gonna meet after a whole year, but the first thought I got was “Ohh. I can’t write there”. Am I valuing content creation more than human relationships?

My idea book is already filled with many new article ideas. My creativity is still alive. I still have 80 years of life time. Yet, I’m unhappy with the news that I can’t open the app for a week. The truth is – I’m obsessed with something that took of my peace time and filled it with regret and procrastination.

I don’t associate creating content with feeling good anymore. It actually feels gratifying with a hit, and lowers my emotion when I receive an underserved fruit. To express myself to a tech geek, I would say that my brain processor has heated up in generating ideas, and now it wants to cool down.

The Basic Question – Why Did I Start Writing?

It was supposed to be fun and hobby. I discovered my writing skills at lockdown when my brain felt lighter when all…

--

--