Will A Tampon Make Me Lose My Virginity?

My journey with menstruation in India: Part Two

Anangsha Alammyan
Indelible Ink
Published in
6 min readMay 27, 2020

--

Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

A few months back, I was out on a shopping date with my boyfriend. The two of us were roaming around the mall, looking at books and watches, when a sudden wetness between my legs made me wonder if I had gotten my period. A quick trip to the washroom confirmed my suspicions. Worried that I would leave a pool of blood wherever I sat, I dragged my boyfriend out to the nearest medical store.

There was a middle-aged man seated behind the counter, reading something on his mobile phone. He looked up when we entered. I smiled and asked, “Hi, do you have some tampons?”

The man raised an eyebrow at me, indicating he hadn’t understood what I asked. There was no one else around at that time, so, I repeated my request louder, stressing out each word.

“Can I have some tampons, please?”

This time, his brow furrowed and his gaze moved up and down my body. Instinctively, I crossed my arms across my chest and stared defiantly back at him. Then, he looked at my boyfriend with distaste. A note of disapproval crept into his voice as he confirmed, “Condoms?”

“No,” I said, then added, “Tampons. Do you have some?”

--

--