Three Client “Red Flags” I’ve Learned To Identify As A Freelance Writer

Starting out as a freelance writer? Beware of these three red flags!

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 18, 2022

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

When you put yourself out there in the world as a freelance writer, you’re pitting yourself against tens of thousands of other competitors.

You’re also exposing yourself to huge corporations that might exploit you if you’re not diligent and cautious enough.

During the last 15 months that I spent as a freelance writer, I’ve gained some invaluable insights that can never be gained from any book or any other professional courses on the internet.

As the saying goes, experience is one of the greatest teachers. And my experience has taught me to see three warning signals in clients that I overlooked as a novice writer.

If you’re a freelance writer or thinking about starting your career, read on and keep these red flags in mind so you don’t make the same mistakes I did when I first started out.

1. Clients Who Demand A Free Sample

A reputed company would never demand a free sample from you. For them, your current portfolio should be sufficient.

--

--