Which states do Product Hunt makers live in?

Ali Afridi
2 min readDec 23, 2015

--

Earlier this week, Ryan Hoover wrote a post about working with the Product Hunt community to create a more open platform. One of the things that caught my eyes in the post was a density map showing which countries featured makers reside in. I found the map to be interesting, partly because of a different project that I’m working on related to mapping developer activity (more info on that soon).

One of the things that I was interested in seeing was the distribution of Product Hunt makers within the U.S. Since there wasn’t a map already existent, I decided to create one.

In order to create this chart, I first got a list of all the makers that had built products featured on Product Hunt (using their API). I then got the locations of the makers from their twitter profiles if they had one listed. For makers with multiple locations listed, all listed states were counted. If you’re curious, you can find the script here.

The thing that stands out to me most is that almost every state is represented (48/50). North Dakota and West Virginia are the ones which aren’t. The data was only for makers featured in 2015 (up to Dec. 21) and who had their twitter location updated, so there may have been makers from these states who I missed.

The top states did not come as a huge surprise. Below are the top 10 by number of makers residing there. The full list is available here.

--

--