Sunshine and Whiskey

Jessica Jungton
2 min readFeb 10, 2018

I have two favourite songs — one everyone knows and the other nobody does. The first song reminds me of everyone and the second only of me.

Keeping the same favourite songs for years means a collage of memories built against the melody and lyrics. Images flashing across your mind with every note as you watch your life against a stranger’s backdrop.

Artwork curtesy of Jing Jing

You Are My Sunshine

My grandfather pushes me on our red swing set beside the two big trees while singing the chorus.

Dad calls me ‘sunshine’ when he sees I am wearing the white summer dress with the yellow sunflowers.

A stranger hums the tune on the subway beside me, far from home.

My husband texts me “Good morning” with a sun emoji in the morning when we are at work.

Nearly a hundred years of humans around the world living their lives to an iconic song with sad verses and a sweet chorus.

Artwork curtesy of Jing Jing

Whiskey

Playing the first few notes on the car speakers getting up the nerve to back out of the driveway.

--

--

Jessica Jungton

Co-founder of The Writing Cooperative. I paint landscapes in portrait and smile at strangers.