NRW Chronicles: Unveiling the Journey Through North Rhine-Westphalia

Arpitha Rajeev
3 min readAug 13, 2023

--

Tuffi, Wuppertal

There is a difference between a tourist and a traveler. According to the internet,

“A tourist is someone who travels to various destinations primarily for leisure, relaxation, and enjoyment. Tourists often follow planned itineraries, visit well-known attractions, stay in popular accommodations, and may engage in guided tours or activities. Tourists tend to focus on experiencing the highlights of a destination and might have limited interaction with the local culture and people. They often seek comfort, convenience, and a stress-free travel experience.”

and

“A traveler is someone who approaches their journeys with a deeper curiosity and a desire to immerse themselves in the local culture, traditions, and way of life. Travelers often seek authentic experiences, explore off-the-beaten-path locations, and engage in meaningful interactions with locals. They may have a more flexible itinerary, embrace spontaneity, and be open to exploring beyond the typical tourist spots. Travelers aim to gain insights, broaden their horizons, and develop a deeper connection to the places they visit.”

Talking about me, I like to play both roles — most of the time I consider myself a traveler, and sometimes I also like being a tourist. Why am I telling this now? Because I am setting off on a journey in Germany’s most populous state “North Rhine-Westphalia”. Being the fourth largest state of Germany by size, it shares international borders with Belgium and the Netherlands. If you want to visit this state as a tourist, the most popular attractions are found in cities like Cologne, Dusseldorf, Bonn, and Dortmund. As I said, as a traveler, visiting Cologne Cathedral, Rhine Tower, Ludwig Museum and other popular attractions are not the only things that attract me. Hence, I made a list of every major and minor city in NRW to understand the lifestyle, food, how local people spend their leisure time, and some history. I will be documenting my experiences as I keep exploring in this special series that is dedicated just to the state of “North Rhine-Westphalia”.

What to expect?

With each installment of the “NRW Chronicles,” you can expect to:

  1. Dive into the heart of NRW’s cities, neighborhoods, and landmarks, as I share my personal experiences and encounters.
  2. Uncover the best-kept secrets, off-the-beaten-path attractions, and local favorites that make each city special.
  3. Engage with the cultural fabric of NRW through art, music, cuisine, and the stories of its people.
  4. Join me in reliving the excitement, challenges, and moments of wonder that unfold during my travels.

Why the NRW Chronicles?

I like to live in a bigger city for months or years and during this period I cover every surrounding place of it learning about the way of life in that area. Then I move to another major city and repeat the cycle. This is usually my way of traveling that makes me a nomad maybe for the rest of my life. Anyway, right now I don’t live in a bigger city but I have access to every city in the state of NRW through my semester ticket.

The best part of being a student in Germany is: you get a semester ticket that allows you to ride every kind of transport like bus, train, tram, and ferry within a particular boundary (of course except ICEs). As I am a student in the state of NRW, my semester ticket allows me to travel anywhere I want within NRW for free as many times as I want. The other benefit is there is a pretty good discount for a student on the entry tickets for places like museums, zoos, etc. Not sure of which state I want to move to next year, I thought of utilizing my student card to explore the cities of NRW.

Through this series, I aim to capture the essence of NRW, one city at a time, and showcase its rich heritage, vibrant arts scene, and the warm embrace of its communities.

As we set forth on this epic journey, I invite you to be part of the exploration. Your comments, insights, and shared experiences will enrich our collective adventure and make the “NRW Chronicles” a true celebration of discovery.

Stay tuned for our first destination, Wuppertal, where we will wander through its charming streets, soak in its history, and immerse ourselves in its unique ambiance.

--

--