Why Don’t Break the Chain is More Than a Game

The X that marks the daily writing goal spot drives momentum

Carla Calvert
4 min readJun 5, 2022
The Power of the X captured by the author

It’s a late Saturday night and I’m staring at the calendar next to my desk. The one I just flipped the page over to for June. The one with a big neon pink “X” on the three squares for this month. The one marking the three days I have achieved my goal of writing daily, so far.

The one with today’s square blank, so far.

And I can’t let it go.

I can’t break the chain. I have to write.

“A calendar helps you plan work, gives you concrete goals, and keeps you on track.” — Austin Kleon, Steal Like An Artist

And it tells you when you are AWOL. It doesn’t care about your excuses or your explanations. It only cares about the enormous pink X that is missing.

It only cares that the chain is not broken.

The Seinfeld Strategy

Comedian Jerry Seinfeld is said to have used a large wall calendar along with a red marker to keep track of his goal of writing a joke each day. After doing his day’s work, a big red X would mark the spot, signifying the goal had been met.

“After a few days, you’ll have a chain. Just keep at it and the chain will grow

--

--

Carla Calvert

Wrangling words as I chase the ordinary in the simple beauty of life. Forever writing a novel, or several at once. Chronic non-finisher. Here to change that.