5 Best Financial Decisions I Made in my Early 20s

And what you can learn from them.

Anangsha Alammyan
Publishous
Published in
5 min readAug 23, 2022

--

Photo by Shane on Unsplash

As a young person, money isn’t your most valuable asset.

Time, energy, and mindset are your most valuable assets.

The baby steps you take today towards financial freedom can make life so much easier and richer down the line. Read on for some of the most intelligent financial decisions I took in my early 20s and how they have compounded to make my life better today.

If you’ve recently started earning or are in college trying to make ends meet, this post is for you.

0. No Student Loans

This is a privilege I was granted because of my birth and my parents’ hard work.

From pre-university until post-graduation, I studied in colleges subsidized by the Indian government. I also received a scholarship, which took care of most of my expenses, books, etc. My parents took care of anything that the government didn’t cover.

In this regard, I was privileged that I had no student loans.

It helped me start my financial independence journey much quicker than most people my age in developed countries. This headstart paved the way for several intelligent financial decisions, which I discuss in the following…

--

--