The 5 Elements My Top 5 Viral Headlines Have in Common

That have helped them rack up around 250,000 views

Neeramitra Reddy
Feedium
Published in
7 min readFeb 25, 2022

--

Man looking at the stats
Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels

Around a year ago, I had reached out to Matt Lillywhite and vented my frustration.

I had a 90% + curation rate. I was constantly getting published in top publications. Editors loved my work. My article formatting was top-notch.

But none of my articles had even come close to going viral. He had only one thing to say, “It’s definitely the headlines then.”

Disappointed by the cliche answer, I continued as usual. A month later, an article I expected to lie in obscurity blew up. I experimented with the headline template until another went viral.

One, two, four, eight more. Mother virality soon became a regular visitor.

I had understood the game — my average monthly views zoomed into the 100,000+ range.

Screenshot collage by the author

Matt had been right.

A brilliant article with a weak headline is like a royal chamber with a dirty, dented door.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Feedium

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com