What’s Stopping Freelancers From Achieving Financial Freedom?

The biggest mistakes you’re making in your writing journey and how to get past them.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2024

--

Photo by Alejandro Escamilla on Unsplash

I hustled on the side for years before I became a full-time writer.

I know how difficult it is to monetize your passion. Freelancers are often lied to, cheated, or taken advantage of by clients.

I myself have had clients who promised to 10x my rates once they got funding, only to disappear after making me write a couple of articles at 1/10th my usual rates.

I’ve had clients who refused to clear the invoice on the vague grounds that “The quality isn’t up to it.”

I’ve had clients who made me go through multiple revision rounds, when our contract clearly limited the number of free revisions to two.

It’s a brutal world out there for freelance writers.

If you want to stay ahead of the curve and achieve financial freedom, you’ve got to think out of the box and plan well.

In this post, I’m sharing my experiences of how I saved up a good corpus as a freelance writer and how you can do the same.

Here are four reasons why most freelancers aren’t financially free.

1. They fail to plan…

--

--