How to Be the Best in Class: Use ChatGPT for Exams!

Kevin Nokia
4 min readDec 14, 2023

--

I was pretty dumb in high school.

I’m not literally dumb; I keep making the same mistakes and didn’t get good grades in high school. I’m not the worst, but I’m not the best either in high school. I always overthink quizzes and exams, then end up frustrated and not studying.

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I always rely on my feelings when it comes to exams.

Every time I learn something complex, I end up skipping the important words to understand the question. Then, I end up not understanding the questions and relying on my feelings when answering them.

I keep getting a bad grade and end up hating school.

Then, I tried to become more proactive while learning.

I use Google to search for complex concepts and then read the explanation given by Google recommendations. I found many helpful guides, and sometimes I use YouTube if I don’t understand clearly. I keep on searching and searching, but I haven’t found any deep understanding.

I just became more lazy and didn’t want to understand the lessons.

Photo by Jonathan Kemper on Unsplash

Then I found ChatGPT.

This tool is pretty helpful for understanding words.

I use it every time in college now, and it helps me to understand easily and sometimes faster than the class progression.

So, here’s how to use ChatGPT while studying for your exams:

Photo by Tamara Gak on Unsplash

1. Find the words or concepts that you don’t understand.

I found it pretty frustrating when it comes to accounting or management complex words because my major is in management.

I sometimes found complex words like OCM or organization change management, or sometimes simple words like risk management, etc.

It’s not that I can’t understand it. It’s just pretty hard to read textbooks these days. I found it more helpful to understand using ChatGPT.

So, for this example, we’ll use organizational change management as an example.

Dividing it!

2. Divide it!

  • Organization
  • Change
  • Management

You need to understand each word to understand the combination of those words.

Why do you need to understand each word? Because learning is about connecting the meanings of different words, You can’t just understand organizational change management without understanding management, right? It would be odd in your understanding.

You’ll end up being more confused about understanding and connecting different meanings.

prompt: “explain organization, change, and management in one paragraf each.”

3. Now, you use ChatGPT to understand it.

The prompt that I love to use is “explain _____ in one paragraph.”

But it’s too long to read or even use.

Use this prompt to “shorten the paragraph.”

Then the result will be like this:

Now that you understand each word, you can do this:

4. Understand the combination of those words.

Use the prompt “Now, explain Organization Change Management using those explanations.”

You can use other prompts, like:

“Use simpler words” to make it easier to understand.

“Explain it in one sentence” to help you fill out your assignments if you are lazy enough to write down the answer in a long paragraph or to read it faster.

Disclaimer:

I’m not recommending that you always rely on ChatGPT, especially in exams, because you might haven’t understood fully and you didn’t use your brain to fully think about the answer. ChatGPT could be your new escape for exams or assignments. So use it wisely to understand the words, not to escape your learning progress.

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting