Accomplishing nothing.

Except it’s anything but.

𝑚𝑖𝑙𝑙𝑠𝑧.ustwo/FAMPANY®
#TheRoadTo100
Published in
4 min readNov 19, 2017

--

5am alarm went off this morning, but the alarm was inside my head, I needed no Tech firepower. These days I wake up around 5 standard, bounding out of bed excited in a way I’ve never prior experienced ready to take on the day – this is in my opinion 100% down to my new diet (I don’t drink, I train all the time and I’m vegetarian and about everything else to do with health – fuck dairy)

Today was important – I’d spent last week unleashing the wetty in a cardio kettle bell, TRX and Barbell FRAME session and I was seriously shattered – focus in those sessions beyond the creation of a waterfall of sweat is to improve movement and core strength and the results are incredible – I’m actually feeling truly alive with the advancement in my movement (I’ve never in the last paid much attention to it) – I’m starting to understand why so many people spend their Home time moving like monkeys as opposed to standing.

Fuck it all.

I’d then finished the week with a half marathon on Friday and a simple 4 mile Saturday morning before the family wakes up kicker.

The culmination of my hardest week to date (note I probably walk anywhere between 2 and 7 miles a day ontop of the above – thinking is best when on the move) was something inside me – aka me! Telling me that I needed to take on 20 miles even though today probably should have been a rest day.

The thought of heading out at 5:30am on a Sunday would have in the past not even have got into my head. Now I wanted to embrace it more than ever.

The actual Run itself was nothing special in terms of times, it was ironically the exact pace of my only marathon to date when a few years ago I went out with lightening first half only to completely crash around mile 16 – the benefit of age! and proper give a shit training is today’s run was nothing like that – the pace was consistent, the podcasts were flowing like wine (I don’t drink) and the nutrition was A Game (no breakfast Just fuelled pre, during and post on my favourite sports nutrition)

I’m obsessed with this podcast series

The fact is it was a marker, it was a step forward and a step nearer to my 100km challenge in May. The hardest thing to conquer on those runs is the mind (I’ve done a 35 miler a few years ago without much training and it almost made me jump into a river and let myself sink such was the venom of the mind in telling me how bad I was) – this 20 was so pure (all about the diet and training) – I was clear thinking the whole way… was such a relief. Was so damn fucking exciting to know I’m improving.

Maybe listening to lance sounds odd because of what he did but I listened to this podcast with Rich Roll and it changed my thinking – I am now obsessed with his new podcast series named Forward and his daily named Stages

One thing I’ve learnt is that in the past I didn’t take my post Run nutrition serious – including hydration (meaning I’d often feel awful later in the day) – if you weigh yourself before and after a long run you’ll see you lose a serious amount of weight – or should I say water… so I know work out how much I’ve lost and drink accordingly as soon as I land home. (same goes when I run as in the past I never really drank as I ran – probably why the brain would start playing tricks on me)

Carbs wise it’s so important to refuel for the day – smashed down two bananas and my TRIBE shake (with almond milk of-course!) so I’m ready for the day with the fam.

Not actually sure what I was trying to tell myself in this post but I’m proud and excited that I’m taking my new me so serious. It’s fun.

I’m super impressionable and now love learning in a way I’ve never been open to in the past when I focused on one thing – my business. Love to hear from you, you can contact me on Strava, Twitter, Instagram or old school awesome school email mills@ustwo.com

--

--