Avengers Endgame Failed Its Fat Fans

Rachael Hope
Fattitude
Published in
3 min readApr 27, 2019

--

*minor spoilers ahead!*

I could write a dozen paragraphs about how much I loved Avengers Endgame. The story was wrapped up in a near-flawless manner. I loved the continued character development of Robert Downey Jr’s Tony Stark, who is one of my favorite characters. There were several progressive-feeling moments that touched me to the point of tears.

Unfortunately, one of the thing I’ll remember most about Endgame is how I felt when Marvel let me and all it’s other fat fans down.

I won’t say how far into the future we we meet up with Thor in New Asgard. He’s been living there long enough to become slovenly and unkempt, with dirty clothing, messy hair, and a frizzy beard. It’s obvious that everything he’s been through has thrown him into a depression and trauma he’s unable to deal with, so he muffles his feelings constantly with alcohol. Between Thor: The Dark World and Avengers: Endgame, Thor has watched his brother and half his people die in front of him, lost his mother, and watched half of the universe disintegrate before his eyes. Who wouldn’t be messed up after all that?

I wish I could describe the feeling of absolute disappointment I felt sitting in a full theater and hearing the laughter and comments when the camera zoomed in on Thor’s muffin top. His body turned and the focus fell on the prosthetic…

--

--

Rachael Hope
Fattitude

Polyamorous, loud laughing unapologetic feminist, rad fatty, and epic sweet tooth.