Getting a Girl’s Name

The creepy techy way

Dan Polaske
1 min readFeb 20, 2014

I was at a tech conference in SF last week. Across the aisle from me was this cute girl. She was looking down at her phone. I happened to notice she was on Twitter. Then I thought, what are people doing in Twitter during a speaker…usually following the speaker. Plus the speaker had just plugged his Twitter on the first slide. So I hopped on Twitter and went to the speaker’s follower list. Knowing that your most recent followers show up at the top I looked through the top few profiles. And sure enough I found her in the top 5 people.

Now this was more than an exercise in creepiness. I am always fascinated with creative ways we can connect with people. This recent followers technique could prove useful during the next tech talk I attend. Scanning the profiles of the speakers most recent follows will give me a nice feel for who is in the room, and who I should connect with.

I’m sure you’re curious as to who this girl was, so here she is: @kaylacrlsn

If she asks, tell her that creepy guy @dpolaske told you to follow her.

Unlisted

--

--