Recent Artwork, April 2023

johnnyprofane1
ArtfullyAutistic
Published in
4 min readApr 19, 2023

--

“In My Own Time,” an imagined pulp fiction book cover, inspired by Bob Pepper’s famous cover for “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep,” by Philip K. Dick. A grotesque man’s head, mixing elements of xray, skeleton, watches, watch parts. He stares with one living and one dead eye at the reader. Title reads: “Johnny Profane Âû — Time Stream Meltdown.” Teaser text reads: “After a nuclear meltdown, the Time Stream flows up, down, sideways… Backwards. Johnny Profane must lead a desperate uprising aga
“In My Own Time,” an imagined pulp fiction book cover by author.

👉Hi-res versions, suitable for screensavers, TV art, or posters up to 40″ available free to all paid subscribers & monthly Ko-Fi supporters. Signed, if you like. Drop me a line…

I’m exploring using Midjourney and other forms of AI for my illustrations. Although not required as a subscriber, I credit Midjourney’s role in each.

In my process, I consult Midjourney for ideas. Much like back in the day working for ad agencies. I used to scan portfolios, competitor works, award winners, and annual compilations before starting a project.

For some images, I combine photos, Midjourney output, manual sketching/painting, and Photoshop work to create a final image. Midjourney is a tough beast to tame. So, because fellow illustrators have asked, I’m posting my Midjourney prompts. As a community, we learn together.

Image for forthcoming podcast, “Slouching Toward Autistic Joy: 6 Weird Stages… Now Surprising Relief.”

“Other People’s Agendas,” original illustration by the author, based on Midjourney prompts, painting, personal photos. Fantasy/horror illustration of a surreal rollercoaster. In the foreground a young man stares up into a bright break in dark clouds above. He is seated in a roller coaster car. In the background wildly imagined roller coaster tracks loop & bend in illogical ways.
“Other People’s Agendas,” original illustration by the author.

“Other People’s Agendas,” original illustration by the author, based on Midjourney prompts, painting, personal photos. Fantasy/horror illustration of a surreal rollercoaster. In the foreground a young man stares up into a bright…

--

--