Impressions of Rosario

Mikhail Kotykhov
Can Speak English
Published in
4 min readJun 17, 2015

--

Laura Sofia helps us discover Rosario,
one of the largest cities in Argentina.

Laura Sofia, thank you so much.
Thank you for helping us learn more
about your city, Rosario.

My pleasure.

I wanna tell you about my impressions of the city.
I haven’t visited Rosario yet, of course…
but these are the impressions I get from pictures.
Google map also helps, by the way.
It’s a pretty cool way to explore new places.

Yes, I know… I know…
I use it very often too.

Image by agent1994 at Flickr, CC-BY

All right… my first impressions…
I looked at the images of the city
from the riverside…
And I got to tell you something…
I think the amount of open space
here in Rosario…
is just amazing.

Really?

Yes, yes, absolutely.
May be it’s because of the river…
And there is so much space on the other side of the river…
Then I looked at some of the city parks…
And guess what… I found them very spacious too.
And, of course, one more thing — so much sunshine.
I guess it is a lot to do with the open space.
Don’t know… Just my first impressions.

I see. All right…
So, tell me…
what else did you learn about Rosario?

Oh… lots of things…
Rosario is not far from Buenos Aires.
The city has about a million people.
Rosario is the third largest city in Argentina.
But it has the second largest GDP in the country.

That’s right.
I see you do know a few things about Rosario, don’t you?

Yes, and I also found an interesting story…
How the opening of Parana river for trade…
helped Rosario grow as an economic center.
And, when the immigrants from Europe started to arrive,
the population of the city almost doubled every ten years…
I think it was… when was it…
in the 1910s and 20s.

Right. We do have a lot of history here, that’s for sure.

Image by pablobd at Flickr, CC-BY-SA

I am just wondering… is there any place in Rosario
to see what the life of early immigrants was like?

Oh… many… so many of those places.
The documented history of immigration…
it’s everywhere around the city.
For instance, the cultural stands at the Collectivity Fair…
they always show a lot of historical evidence…
of the immigrants’ life.
We also have the Museum of Rosario…
It’s in the Independence Park.

Yes, I love visiting local museums…
learning about the history of the place.
Absolutely… I love it.

Great.
Then I would certainly recommend you to visit Estevez Museum,
close to the National Flag’s Monument…
in front of the 25 de mayo Park.
And Castagnino Museum is another beautiful one.
Fine Arts Museum…
it’s also in the Independence Park.

Image by loco085 at Flickr, CC-BY-SA

Thanks, sounds great.
Now that you mentioned the National Flag Monument…
It’s certainly one of the most famous places in Rosario.
What’s the story of the national flag?

Oh… the national flag is from here.
In 1812 the General Manuel Belgrano
created and displayed the Argentine flag
on the banks of the Paraná River, at Rosario…
for the first time in our history.
One year later, there was a Battle of San Lorenzo.
It was during the first Independence War.

Yes, and there is also the Flag Day,
a national holiday in Argentina.
What happens in the city on that day?

The Flag Day commemoration, on June 20th
There is a large crowd…
there are cultural exhibitions…
displays of our culture and traditions.

National Flag Memorial, Image by dreamon22 at Flickr, CC-BY

All right. Another question…
Is there any food that is distinct to Rosario?

Of course…
A food typical to Rosario…
It’s the “Carlitos”…
The classic sandwich made of ham, cheese and ketchup.
But Rosario is also known for
its variety of pizzas and ice-creams.

Argentine pizza. Image by stickwithjosh at Flickr, CC-BY

Thanks again, Laura Sofia.
With your help…
I understand the city better.

My pleasure. Really glad to help.

Head image: agent1994 at Flickr, CC-BY

--

--

Mikhail Kotykhov
Can Speak English

Learn a language by speaking it. Learn a skill by using it.