My Favorite Sport Was Cycling — Until It Caused Runner’s Knee

Overtraining can lead to dangerous injuries.

Khyati Jain
In Fitness And In Health

--

Photo by Centre for Ageing Better from Pexels

I have been cycling since before I can write full sentences. I have loved my small red bike more than any other material possession.

I used to ride it daily at an unsafe speed which led to many injuries, some of which have left a permanent mark on my body. That cycle was my solace.

Then I got bigger and so did my bicycle. The new bicycle was my companion as I maneuvered the intricacy of adult life.

Cycling was My Stress Buster

I enrolled in the toughest course in India. It was a menace, I had to study daily for 6–7 hours about topics that I was least interested in. The stress and pressure to clear the entrance in one attempt got to me.

I would study all day long and then at night I would grab my bike and go on long rides, I rode at high speed for long periods.

It led to overtraining, which caused swelling and knee pain. Hence the runner’s knee.

Runner’s Knee Didn’t Stop Me

The physical discomfort I felt while riding was nothing compared to the psychological pressure I was under.

--

--

Khyati Jain
In Fitness And In Health

10x Top Writer| Certified Yoga Trainer| I write about health, fitness, lifestyle, and more. Open to writing gigs. Contact:- khyatijainwrites01@gmail.com