I Was Wrong About Happiness All My Life

In fact, most of us are. When, where, and why did we go so fundamentally wrong?

Neeramitra Reddy
Ascent Publication
Published in
8 min readDec 17, 2020

--

Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

Happiness, the ever-elusive thing that every one of us is constantly pursuing and something that millions of self-help “gurus” constantly spout advice on.

It wasn’t long ago that I discovered that almost everything I knew about happiness was wrong. In fact, most of us are wrong.

When I was bullied in middle school, my self-esteem hit rock bottom and I fell into depression. It wasn’t long before I recovered but the bullying left something deep within me.

A need for constant validation. If someone told me I looked good, I did. If someone told me I was right, I was.

“Seeking validation was the name of the game, the numbers mattered more than anything else and it was the numbers I chased.”

I also needed more — more friends, more clothes, more achievements, more followers on Instagram, more likes, even more relationships, and overall more validation.

I just had to look and make others think I was confident, happy, cheerful, and “cool”. What others thought of me mattered more than what I thought of myself. It was my…

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Ascent Publication

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com