3 Valuable Self-Love Lessons From The Darkest Phase of my Life

And how you can apply the same to boost your self-esteem

Anangsha Alammyan
Curious
Published in
5 min readMar 20, 2021

--

Anangsha Alammyan on Instagram

I applied for my dream job when I was 22.

I had to write a tough exam but failed to make it to the interview stage. I was devastated. It felt like all hope was lost.

Somehow, I still believed in my potential. I decided to stick with the goal and retake the exam the next year.

During that one year between the first failed attempt and the next, I stayed in a shitty one-room apartment thousands of miles away from home with rats and cockroaches as my only roommates. They bit into all the biscuit packets I’d buy for myself and make weird rustling noises at night that would startle me.

I had no money for food. Some days were so bad that all I could afford was white bread for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I never had the heart to ask my parents for money as they were also having struggles of their own. My father was going through the preparations for a major surgery, and my mother was on unpaid leave to take care of him.

Well, to be honest, I could have asked them for some money to buy proper food at least, but in my head, I “deserved” this fate because I failed the first time around.

--

--