I Don’t Work Before Lunch. I Work After Dinner.

My weird routine as a creator-turned-entrepreneur and how it works for me.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
6 min readFeb 25, 2022

--

A picture my friend clicked when I was working at Sunset by the beach, and everyone else was chilling with their beers. (Image from the author’s Instagram)

We were waiting for dinner at a cafe by the sea when I took my laptop out to work.

My friends stared at me like I was crazy.

“What?” I asked.

“You want to work now?” one of them asked, exaggerating the motion of looking at their watch to emphasize the time.

“Um, yes. Just finishing up an article and then I’ll be done.”

They shrugged and let me work, but kept commenting how I was so sincere that I was willing to work beyond the “hours” as well.

This happened on a work vacation with my friends in Goa — the beautiful beach city of India and my favorite holiday destination in the world. Three college friends and I had taken a trip for ten days there where we were supposed to work and chill as our schedules permitted.

That was also when I realized the biggest difference between me and people who work in 9 to 5 jobs. They have fixed work hours. I do too, but mine are so unconventional, it shocks them every time I tell them I’m still working at 11 at night.

Before we begin, here’s a little insight into what I do: I’m a writer on Medium and a…

--

--