I Knew He Was Breaking Up With Me, but That Didn’t Make It Easy

Moving on was hard but I did it.

Anangsha Alammyan
Indelible Ink
Published in
4 min readAug 28, 2020

--

Photo by Kyle Broad on Unsplash

My last relationship wasn’t perfect.

There were lies, there was cheating, and most of it came down to me. It was my fault.

But if there is one thing that is true, one thing that shines like a beacon in the whole fucked-up episode, it’s this: I loved him. It was hard, but I loved him.

And that is why, when he called me after I had landed from a flight from a three-day trip of being together, I was shocked out of my wits when he told me he wanted to break up.

I knew this was coming. I knew we had changed too much from the people we had been when we had fallen in love, but even then, even with all the foreboding and the clear signs, his declaration came as a shock.

It was as if he was my tether to reality, and suddenly, it was cut loose.

I suppose this is what people mean when they say it is not possible to “prepare” for a breakup. No matter how many signs the universe sends you, you will keep holding on to the relationship with everything you have got, believing it will stay forever, that it is bulletproof.

We had been together for two years, and moving on was hard. But, I did it.

--

--