Women’s Health and Well-Being

Understanding Abortion Laws in Australia: A Public Health Overview

Although abortion is legal nationwide, there are distinct differences in regulations and access that I wanted to clarify for my readers, particularly those residing in Australia.

Mike Broadly, DHSc
Curated Newsletters
8 min readJun 27, 2024

--

Thanks Dr Mehmet Yildiz, chief editor of ILLUMINATION publications, for creating this image for my story, using my choice of a photo from Pexels

Abortion is a complex and emotionally charged topic that sparks intense debates. Addressing this issue can be challenging for some writers, yet I feel compelled to explore it to promote awareness and invite my readers to a constructive dialogue. You may wonder why an older man like myself chooses to tackle this subject. It is a valid question.

Throughout my many years as a public health professional, I encountered the issue of abortion in various countries and across different cultures. As a health scientist, I have researched this topic extensively from physical and mental health perspectives. Additionally, I have supported related policies as a public health consultant. Thus, I want to create a healthy debate on this important health and human rights matter, not a political matter.

To achieve my awareness goal, yesterday, I wrote a story titled Navigating the Maze of Reproductive Rights: A Multifaceted Look at

--

--

Mike Broadly, DHSc
Curated Newsletters

Retired health scientist in his mid 70s, avid reader, writer, chief editor of Health & Science, part of ILLUMINATION. Info: https://medium.com/p/28cc629772ab