Introduction- My Backbone

Who am I?

Matt Besler
2 min readNov 19, 2013

There’s no manual for starting a blog. So I took advice from one of my college friends who recommended I “introduce myself”. He said it’s important to give your audience a backbone for future posts. How do I do that? The best way for me to create an introduction is to tell you the 5 most important aspects that make me who I am.

So here it goes, My Backbone:

  1. Amanda, my fiancé- Amanda is by my side through everything, no matter what. She has so many qualities I admire, and she motivates and challenges me to be a better person. Amanda means the world to me, but it’s not possible to explain how much in just a few sentences.
  2. Mom and Dad- They literally have been with me since day one. They made, and continue to make so many sacrifices to help get me where I am today. They might not recognize it now, but I’m following their lead every day.
  3. My Brothers- I have two younger brothers. Both are very athletic, competitive, and talented . Even though we’re older now, I still have the desire to set good examples for them. I almost never admit this, but I look up to them just as much as they look up to me.
  4. My Friends- I’m going to brag, my friends are awesome. They continue to impress me with their accomplishments. Each of my friends is unique, extremely smart, and driven. They humble me every time we all get together.
  5. My Career- I want/need to be successful at whatever I do. Currently, that means putting as much effort as possible into becoming the best professional soccer player I can be. I’m a big believer in outworking your competition. This is easier said than done, but I strive to better prepare myself than anyone I compete with.

What about God?- With regret, this would be #6. I can’t lie and say God is #1 in my life right now. However, I’m fully aware of the importance of Faith and the impact it can have. Faith is something I can work on each day, and I’m committed to moving Him up on my list!

Who are you? What’s your Backbone?

MB5

Matt Besler

--

--

Matt Besler

US Men's National Team and Sporting Kansas City professional soccer player. Notre Dame Alum. Give thanks to God...Phil 4:13