All I Wanted Was For My Mother To Love Me

Little did I know, she always loved me. I just didn’t see it.

Chrissie Massey
New Writers Welcome

--

Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

For most of my life, I longed for my mother to love me. I craved a mother-daughter relationship like I saw on television shows. I wanted her to be my best friend.

Our relationship was never that way. I have always had a solid relationship with her, but we always had tension and distance due to our circumstances.

I decided to write a novel to examine my relationship with my mother. I had hoped it would give me insight as I had to go deep into her thoughts and feelings to write her effectively.

When I reached the halfway mark in my novel, I concluded that my mother always loved me. I just didn’t see it. That was partly because my grandma tried to steal my connection to her from her.

My Mother Had The Cards Stack Against Her

When I was 2, my father died after a painful battle with lung cancer. He never smoked, either. He was only 28.

Just before my father’s death, my brother, Jason, died. He was only 2 months old. He had multiple health problems. His death crippled my mom emotionally.

Four months after my dad died, my grandpa passed away. My mother was very close to her…

--

--

Chrissie Massey
New Writers Welcome

Spent my adult life writing online for many publications — both online & print. Now, I’m finding my voice, and sharing it with the world. she/her