Being a Loner Used to Make You a Sad Loser. Now It’s a Superpower.

It’s a secret rebirth in disguise

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe
Published in
4 min readMay 2, 2023

--

Image credit: Midjourney

10 days alone in the woods with no talking sounds crazy.

A friend of mine, Andy, announced one night over cake and coffee that he was doing a silent meditation retreat. He had to disappear for 10 days and live on some crazy commune.

Wife: “I think he’s gone crazy. Should we still be friends with him?”

The idea of doing such a lonely experience makes people think you’ve lost the plot. Like you’ve got a mental disorder and have one foot off the nearest suspension bridge and are going to jump.

10 days later Andy came home from his retreat. He came back a different person. He had clarity, purpose, and most importantly, newfound calmness. All the go-go-go of his job suffocated his mission in life.

Not talking for 10 days and doing stupidly long 2 and 3 hour meditations gave him something indescribable.

Being called a loner

In school and early adulthood I got called a loner.

I used to lock myself in my room at home and make techno songs. All I wanted to do was rock a crowd of 10,000 people for 60 mins with a set full of my own tracks. The bedroom was where those…

--

--

Tim Denning
Mind Cafe

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb