Why Patience is the Most Valuable Skill You’ll Learn as an Independent Content Creator

Stop expecting big wins with minimal effort.

Anangsha Alammyan
Ascent Publication
Published in
5 min readNov 22, 2020

--

Image by Anna Shvets on Pexels

As an independent content creator, I often find myself getting super impatient. I put in hours of hard work writing an article or editing a video for my YouTube channel, and then get disappointed when it doesn’t reach the number of likes or views I’d hoped it would.

There was a time when I used to obsessively check my stats, often deleting lower-performing pieces, and re-publishing them after a while. With time, I’ve realised that obsessing over stats is futile. No matter how much effort you put into crafting the perfect piece, the audience might not resonate with it right then. As a result, all your efforts might go to waste.

Moreover, when it comes to creative pursuits, you’re bound to have more misses than hits. This is true regardless of how famous or well-loved you are.

  • American rapper and record producer Kanye West has released 107 songs, out of which 18 have made it to the Billboard top 10, and only four have become number-one singles.
  • Author Dan Brown produced countless music CDs and wrote 5 novels before his thriller, The Da Vinci Code, become a New York Times bestseller.

--

--