Tiny Tweaks to Your Questions Can Make You a Much Better Conversationalist

The questions you ask can make or break a conversation

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous
Published in
5 min readMay 4, 2021

--

Questions are an integral part of any conversation, and the questions you ask can make or break a conversation. Here are two sample conversations to illustrate:

Conversation A

You: Hey bro! Long time. How are you?

X: Hey, man! I’m great. What about you?

You: I’m doing fine as well. So, had breakfast?

X: Not yet. I just woke up. How about you?

You: I did. Woke up this late? What time did you sleep last night?

X: Around 2 AM. I was playing Valorant late into the night.

You: Oh, I used to game but haven’t heard of this one. Which year was it released in?

X: 2020 I think. Um, sorry, bro, I gotta go. Talk to you later. Bye!

You: Sure, no problem. Bye!

With the conversation being bland and uninteresting, X gets bored and ends it abruptly with a polite excuse.

Conversation B

You: Hey bro! Been a while. How are you and what have you been up to?

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com