Why Building a Reading Habit Can Transform Your Life

Reading is the key to success; without it, misery is coming like a barrage of enemies.

Kevin Nokia
5 min readJul 15, 2024

“Reading is important. If you know how to read, then the whole world opens up to you.” –Barack Obama

Reading habits can transform your life.

Reading habits can improve your life.

Reading habits can change your life.

I’ve never achieved where I am right now without reading.

I’ve changed my life since I was in high school, and where I’m now is so different. One of them is because I read books. I don’t read a “special” book. I just read books that I like.

Once I read, opportunities that I didn’t see were now visible.

Many successful people emphasize the importance of building a reading habit. One of the keys to success and life transformation is reading. You could get many perspectives on the world, life lessons, and solutions to problems that we can’t see with reading.

I’m not really forcing people to read a book, but reading articles like what you are doing right now can actually transform your life. There are many benefits that we can get and opportunities that we could see more from reading.

Let’s see the benefits of building a reading habit and why it could change one’s life.

1. Improve focus

I couldn’t agree more with this.

Scrolling on social media, watching random Youtube videos, and many other instant gratifications are so easy to access now. It ruins not only our dopamine system but also our focus. I even find it hard to sit down and read.

Other than that, whenever I tried to focus on studying courses, listening to my friend talk or even listening to music was hard.

Then I tried to spend time reading. I don’t force myself to read a passage or a page.

I just read one sentence and let myself dive into the book.

I let myself just practice my focus until I can’t understand certain sentences anymore or even find myself tired of reading them. Then, over time, I started to enjoy working. I can understand easily when listening to people.

Well, I would say that my focus improved because of reading.

2. Improve your overall mental health

Reading not only makes you peaceful.

It improves your overall mental health.

Other than that, you become more present when you are reading, which, as a result, makes you happier. Being present is the key to happiness, and reading is the way to that.

Once I read or opened my book, I started to be aware of my own feelings.

I started to be aware of what I’m doing or what I think about. This helps me to start removing negative thinking and choosing to think positively.

Well, I would say that my overall mental health improved because of reading.

3. Opportunities that were hidden are now visible

Talking to people is not only talking.
It’s practicing your connection, communication, and empathy.

Studying courses is not only studying.
It’s practicing your focus, understanding, and discipline.

Those things weren’t visible to me at first, but when I started to read, I could now see them.

Books are the window to world lessons, experiences, and journeys. I learn selling, focus, deep work, building habits, transforming life, and many more things from books. I didn’t know that we could learn many things until I read.

Well, I would say that my vision for opportunities is now visible because of reading.

Reading is the key to success

  • We could all gain those benefits.
  • We all could transform our lives.
  • We all could make our lives better.

It all started with reading.

I know that you might find it hard to read, but for now, don’t see reading as something like a chore. Reading should be enjoyable. To make it enjoyable, start small reading sessions and make it a habit.

Now, building the habit of reading could take around 30 to 66 days, or even more.

You don’t need to worry about that, and I will help you achieve a reading habit. The problem that most people face when starting to read is forcing themselves to read. Other than that, hoping to change their lives with just one book is not possible either.

You will eventually transform your life with reading, but it all starts with one thing.

Building the reading habit.

I’ve been working on a book guide for you to build a reading habit.

It’s starting from finding the book you love until building your identity as a reader. Then you can thrive even more with reading in your daily routine, deep reading sessions, and reading for career growth.

Habits could be formed easily through consistency and discipline.

One spice that really builds your reading habit is making it enjoyable.

All of that is in one book, The Mastery of Reading, which will be coming soon in the next month.

Transform your life with reading

Reading overall can transform one’s life, but to make it achievable, start small for now.

Start building your consistency in reading. It doesn’t matter if you only read for one sentence or even just open a book. The key is just being consistent for now. I know you will achieve it, and you will eventually build your reading habit.

It’s time for you to transform your life into your ideal self.

With the habit of reading, you will progress rapidly toward achieving your ideal self.

Start now, and once again.

Happy reading!

New Substack! ✨

I’ve been working on making my articles more structured and exclusive, and I found the perfect platform in Substack.

I’m excited to share two new newsletters with you:

  • Kevin Nokia Writing: My personal journey from struggling through depression to becoming a successful individual.
  • I Am Literate: Discover how to replace scrolling addiction with effective reading habits to improve focus and attention span.

Join now for exclusive articles and a growing community!

Essential Resources for Your Journey 📚

  • 30-day Simple Habit Tracker (Free) | Download Here
    Track Your Daily Habits with Customizable Months
  • Life-changing Blueprint (Free) | Download Here
    How to Change Your Life with Implementation Guide
  • My Booknotes (Free) | Download here
    Understand What You Read with Implementation Guide

--

--

Kevin Nokia

Building reading and writing habits to eliminate doom-scrolling with I Am Literate https://substack.com/@kevinnokiawriting