The Unending River of Hate

Dealing with hateful comments in the age of online trolls

Anangsha Alammyan
Indelible Ink
Published in
3 min readJul 30, 2020

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

“Why does your voice fumble when you speak? Is it a medical problem?”

“You’re a nobody, a wannabe.”

“Your books are flops.”

“You post a lot. You must be narcissistic.”

“You’re not a real writer.”

I have received messages and comments such as these, and so many other versions of hate, of negative feedback, of strangers on the internet telling me I am not a good writer, that my voice is unclear, that my posts are not useful, and so forth.

I face such toxic criticism almost daily, and, though I try to stay strong, sometimes, all this negativity gets to my head.

The shield of anonymity

I’ll be honest — it beats me how a person can be so cruel as to post hate on a work created with so much passion

It probably is due to the debilitating power of the internet: it hands every user an equal footing to voice their opinion. With the shield of anonymity protecting them, such people feel they have the right to say just about anything they wish to, without worrying about the consequences their harsh words might leave on the minds and hearts of the creators.

--

--