3 Mindset Shifts That Fueled My Success As A Freelance Writer

These will make you rich.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJun 8, 2022

--

Image from Anangsha’s Instagram

“Success” has different definitions for different people.

I started my freelance writing career in December 2020. Since then, I’ve earned more than $80,000 US by working less than ten hours a week. I’ve also worked with sub-contractors and paid them a salary much bigger than the paycheck from my previous day job.

How did I achieve such levels of success while it takes so many writers several years to earn any form of “good” money through freelance writing?

In this post, I’ve dissected the three subtle mindset shifts that have hugely contributed to my successful freelance writing journey.

If you’re struggling to make ends meet as a freelance writer, then this post is for you. Learn from what I did, and apply them to your journey to reach new and astronomical levels of success you never imagined.

1. Playing the long-term game with long-term people

Since 2020 until a few weeks ago, I’ve worked with the same two freelance clients.

This goes contrary to any freelance writing advice you’d see on the internet. Writers are advised to keep seeking new opportunities and moving on to better deals.

--

--