A Potent Mindset Shift that Can Actually Help You Prevent Failure

You’ve failed only when you think you have

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous
Published in
5 min readOct 15, 2021

--

Man with brown hair wearing a denim jacket and a yellow shirt in the backdrop of a sunny day
Photo by Mary Taylor from Pexels

As I plow through my workout, I keep my eyes peeled open. Thanks to a lucky coincidence, just as I’m preparing to leave, she steps off the treadmill. Quickly setting my hair in the mirror and slinging my gym bag over my shoulder, I stride towards her.

With a drumming heart and nerves strained with excitement, I greet her. After plainly stating that I find her attractive, I tell her it would be rad if we could get to know each other over some delicious food and clinking glasses.

Wearing an amused smile, she pauses for a second, asks me how old I am and what I do. Then says no — citing the age gap and her being an actress as the reasons.

That made little sense, but irrespective of the real reason(s), it was a rejection. Wishing her fun with the rest of her workout, I leave. The surprising thing was, I actually felt good.

You see, the cold approach in itself was a victory.

How many men gather the courage to do that? It’s less than 1%. And before I had even planned to approach her, I had internalized this in my mind.

--

--

Neeramitra Reddy
Publishous

See(k)ing Truth ✦ Building manximize.com - the best home for soulful 360° self-development ✦ neeramitrareddy.com