How my App Saved Christmas

Shahruk Khan
3 min readDec 29, 2013

Around Thanksgiving, I had an idea for my very first app. Me and my co-founder (my girlfriend) decided to call it Peeko. The app was designed to make shopping on the go quicker, easier, and much more convenient. For people my age, brands like H&M, Forever 21, American Eagle, and Hollister Co. are extremely popular, so we basically showed one cool new product / deal of interest and had it automatically update twice a day.

Tap the logo of the store and out pops a deal or product we found interesting with a countdown until the next one is shown. Users can either visit the store themself or check it out online. I posted a link on my Facebook and the response was huge.

Needless to say, feedback was phenomenal. My friends were using the app and so was I. We knew that people like shopping and looking at pretty things, but sometimes we just don’t have the time to casually stop by our favorite stores and look around.

Today we’re always on the go and time is absolutely critical to us. We can’t always make the 2 block detour to stop by American Eagle to see what they have going on for the season, and that’s when we use Peeko. We pull out Peeko to casually browse and find interesting selections and deals at stores near us.

Currently we are only available in New York City, Palo Alto, San Francisco, and San Diego. We’re adding brands and locations as we go along but it’s always important to know that people found your app so useful and so vital that not only did they replace a part of their daily interaction with your app, but they enjoyed the experience so much they had to reach out to tell you about it.

Give Peeko a try! We’re available on both iOS and Android.

Unlisted

--

--