Your Life Should Be More Than Work — Says Bill Gates

And it reminded me of my journey with toxic productivity.

Sinem Günel
The Startup

--

Wikimedia Commons

In a recent speech to graduates, Bill Gates talked about five lessons he wish he had learned when he was younger.

Number five is to take more breaks and enjoy life.

He shared that one of his greatest regrets has been working too much for too long, and expecting others to do the same.

He advises younger generations to avoid the mistakes he made by suggesting the following:

“Take time to nurture your relationships, to celebrate your successes, and to recover from your losses.

Take a break when you need to.

Take it easy on the people around you when they need it too.”

And as it happens, Gates’ words reminded me of my own journey with toxic productivity.

I thought I could outwork everyone.

My grandfather immigrated from Turkey to Austria in the 1970s.

He arrived as a construction worker, and for the first two decades, the living conditions of my family have been…

--

--

Sinem Günel
The Startup

I help you create a business and life you love. ⚡ Start here: https://mwa.ck.page/5day