Public Speaking From the Perspective of a Non-Native English Speaker

Maral
4 min readNov 7, 2021

One-hour presentation is not the same as giving a 10 minute presentation.

Photo by Redd on Unsplash

They say Practice, Practice, Practice.

But sometimes, even practicing isn’t enough. Some people are naturally gifted in public speaking and some aren’t and that’s okay.

But not everyone who’s fluent in English will be a great public speaker, too. I have listened to many presenters who captivate you with the way they speak and I have also seen presenters who struggle to get their point across.

Is fluency in a language crucial for public speaking? Yes and no. But they aren’t lying when they say the “art of public speaking”.

Years ago, I had to give an one-hour long workshop on a personal development topic. I was working on campus and I really loved my job, felt empowered to be part of my team and worked alongside people who inspired me every day.

As an introvert, I was interacting with many students on a daily basis. Small talks and conversations were easy for me but giving presentations were very challenging.

One day, I had to give an one-hour workshop to a room full of students. I was confident I can handle it. I had given short presentations before but this was a different type of presentation.

--

--

Maral

I write about languages, personal development and music. Graphic Design student and a photography enthusiast.