Tel Aviv

Miriam Zeidler

Matter
2 min readOct 6, 2014

Miriam Zeidler is originally from Munich, Germany, but has been living in Tel Aviv with her husband and their two dogs for the past four years.

Monday, September 15:

Number of times in one day: None

Tuesday, September 16:

Number of times: 2

1.

Time of day: 8:30 a.m.
Location: South Tel Aviv (Bloomfield? North Jaffa). It’s an industrial area in the south of Tel Aviv, which is full of garages and storages. Not a nice area to be in as a woman when it’s dark.
Were you alone? Yes. I was walking to the bus station, on my way to work.
Was he alone? No. There were two men sitting by the car wash entrance where they work.

What happened? Two middle-aged men, in their mid/late 40s, presumably Yemenite Jews, saw me approaching. One of them was bold, the other with very little hair and a skinny face — both suntanned from working outside all day. The bold one also seemed to be missing a teeth or two, which only became visible to me when he smiled at me as I passed. They stared at me and smiled. As I walked passed them, they asked: “Manishma motek?” (“How are you doing baby/cutie?”)

2.

Time of day: 7:20 p.m.
Location: Florentine/South Tel Aviv
Were you alone? Yes. I was sitting at the bus station. There were some people nearby, but not next to me.
Was he alone? No. There were at least two guys.
What happened? There were Two young guys in their late 20s, short shaved dark hair, tanned, wearing white wife-beaters and golden chains. In Israel we call this type of guys ‘Arsim.’ As they drove past me in their car, the passenger shouted something in Hebrew out of the window, which unfortunately I was not able to understand.

Wednesday, September 17-Monday, September 22

Number of times: None

--

--