3 Mindset Shifts I Had to Make After Quitting My Job to be a Writer

Pursuing your passion and the ever-changing definition of “enough.”

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 22, 2022

--

Image from Anangsha’s Instagram

Life as a full-time writer is so much different from being employed in a 9-to-5 job.

With no boss breathing down my shoulders, I can define my priorities and organize my schedule according to what challenges and motivates me.

I can pick projects that I know will impact me positively in the long run. And best of all, since I don’t have “colleagues” per se, I can choose to hang out with people who inspire and energize me.

But I’ve talked about these perks enough.

In this post, I want to talk about the transition and share a few mindset shifts I had to make while switching from being an employee to being my own boss. If you’re thinking of taking the leap of faith or have just started your own venture, read on for some valuable insights.

1. Overcoming “New Job Hangover”

Making a career shift is always exciting. Especially if you have switched from a 9-to-5 job to make a living pursuing your passion, the first few days will be a roller-coaster of emotions.

--

--