Shakespeare at Epidaurus

I was a college thespian

and it helped me succeed in surprising ways

Dan Quine
4 min readJul 3, 2013

--

Back in the mid 1980s, I was a young and enthusiastic university student, studying Computational Science at Leeds University. I had been acting in school plays for years, and was keen to continue at Leeds, so one of the first things I did was join the student Theatre Group. Although I had neither the talent nor the dedication to succeed as an actor, I learned a lot that would stand me in good stead in my career.

Really, computer science and theatre?

It may not be immediately obvious why a computer scientist would benefit from a couple of years spent working on stagecraft and acting. The world of data structures and algorithms seems very far from that of blocking and voice exercises.

Are Dijykstra and Shakespeare in any way related? Does acting in a Gogol play prepare you for working at Google?

I would say a resounding “yes”. I continually find myself using skills I first learned on the stage. Let me count the ways.

Being comfortable in front of an audience

I do a reasonable amount of public speaking. Part of my role as CTO is to represent the Songkick technology team at a variety of events.

Many people hate public speaking, but I enjoy it. Obviously, standing in front of an audience and speaking is something an actor must be able to do. Once you’ve appeared before the rather fickle audiences at the Edinburgh Fringe, speaking to a group of entrepreneurs and techies doesn’t seem so daunting.

Improvisation

I was never great at improvisation, but it is an important skill and one I’m glad I had a chance to learn. It forces you to think on your feet and work with other people to tell a story.

The ability to tell a cohesive collaborative tale comes in very handy in group discussions at work. The ability to string together an argument on the fly and adapt it with the help of others is a critical skill.

Staying calm

Acting is incredibly stressful. When you walk onto the stage, you are the centre of attention, every line you speak and movement you make is carefully attended to. The lights direct the audience’s gaze, and there is nowhere for you to hide. The theatrical world is also full of, let’s call them high net-ego individuals, people who love drama on-stage and off; working with these people has its own special challenges.

So, you quickly develop the ability to remain calm under stress. Whether its coping with the leading man flouncing off in a huff, or the seemingly-endless wait in the wings for your cue, while stage fright builds, you need to find ways to remain calm and cope. Breathing exercises are very popular with actors, they help your voice, but they also calm the nerves.

The ability to stay calm has served me well. It is something I’ve worked on and improved at for two decades now, but the groundwork was laid in my time in the theatre.

Listening and reacting

A key acting skill is the ability to listen. You listen to your fellow actors in order to achieve a natural flow to the dialogue and a realistic back-and-forth between characters. You also learn to read the audience, reacting to the subtle and not-so-subtle cues - the laughter, the anxious sighs at moments of high drama - to gauge and refine your performance.

Much of my work now is about communication, and the heart of communication is listening. I spend a lot of my time in meetings with colleagues, where we might discuss: solutions to detailed technical problems; high level architectural ideas; business and product strategy; the latest computer games; career plans; even personal problems outside work. I am effective when I listen well and help others find their own solution to their problems, and my grounding in the theatre helps me do this.

A love of language

Language is the building block of drama. From the pared back absurdism of Beckett to the lyrical majesty of Shakespeare, playwrights use language to communicate complex ideas in interesting ways. Tools such as metaphor, narrative structure, and rhetoric let them conjure artificial worlds from nothing. Words skilfully placed accumulate into a construct that fills the minds of the audience.

Language is also the building block of programming. Programmers also share a love of language and its structure, and use it to construct complex artificial worlds that convey meaning and information to their users. They care about the high level structure of their programs, and the detailed syntax and grammar of the languages they design and use.

Computer Science is the study of the languages used to build the software that permeates our world. I have gained real insights from the parallels - and differences - in how drama and software are constructed.

Always look at people’s broader skills - you will be surprised at the range of experiences that can make someone better at their job.

--

--

Dan Quine

SVP of Eng at Hologram. Past: Mode, Lever, AltSchool, Songkick, Google, Blurb, Apple. Startup tech entrepreneur. Proud father of twins. @crowquine